AAU Update

AAU Practice Committee

About the AAU Practice Committee

The rector has appointed one practice committee for Aalborg University (termed the AAU Practice Committee). The AAU Practice Committee has been appointed to contribute to ensuring that allegations of questionable research practice are dealth with and to ensure a coordinated dialogue with the Danish Committee on Research Misconduct.

The AAU Practice Committee's task is to:

  • Investigate allegations of questionable research practice, that is cases in which there is a scientific product written on the basis of research conducted at Aalborg University which are outside the scope of the Danish Committee on Research Misconduct or have been dismissed by the Danish Committee on Research Misconduct,
  • Forward any allegations related to a scientidic product (fabrication, falsification or plagiarism) within the scope of the Danish Committee on Research Misconduct for further investigation by the Danish Committee on Research Misconduct, and to
  • Forward cases, which are not related to research conducted at Aalborg University, to any other research institution.

The AAU Practice Committee provides a statement to the Rector, after which the relevant line manager determines any sanctions and handles other relevant follow-up.

The responsibility for handling other cases of suspected questionable research practices, which means cases in which there is no scientific product, rests with the research managers and the various organisational units at Aalborg University, that handle administrative tasks related to research.

Reporting to the AAU Practice Committee

Anyone who may have reasonable grounds for suspecting research misconduct may bring up a question to the AAU Practice Committee by reporting to the AAU Practice Committee.

The report must include information on:

  • the scientific product in question,
  • the researcher(s) or academic staff member(s) against whom the allegation is made,
  • the allegations of research misconduct raised
  • the reasons for submitting the allegations.

Please use this form for submitting an allegation: Form for reporting research misconduct or questionable research practice at Aalborg University

Members of the practice committee

Permanent members: 

  • Professor Anders Ørgaard (chair)
    Department of Law, Faculty of Social Science 
  • Professor with special responsibilities Michael R. Rasmussen (deputy chair)
    Department of Civil Engineering, Faculty of Engineering and Science
  • Professor Ann Bygholm
    Department of Communication and Psychology, Faculty of Humanities
  • Professor Henrik Ib Nielsen
    Department of Clinical Medicine, Faculty of Medicine
  • Professor Peter Axel Nielsen
    Department of Computer Science, the Technical Faculty of IT and Design

Additional faculty members:

  • Professor with special responsibilities Mogens Rüdiger
    Department of Culture and Global Studies, the Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Professor Horia Cornean
    Department of Mathematical Sciences, the Faculty of Engineering and Science
  • Associate professor Malene Charlotte Larsen
    Department of Communication and Psychology, the Faculty of Humanities
  • Associate professor Trine Fink
    Department of Health Science and Technology, the Faculty of Medicine
  • Professor Ole B. Jensen
    Department of Architecture, Design, and Media Technology, the Technical Faculty of IT and Design


If you have any questions about the AAU Practice Committee or the procedures for investigating allegations of research misconduct, please contact:

Bettina Thomsen, special consultant
Email: bt@adm.aau.dk 
Tel.: 9940 9728

Meeting calendar


  • 29 January
  • 2 March
  • 2 April
  • 7 May
  • 11 June
  • 18 August
  • 23 September
  • 28 October
  • 23 November
  • 16 December

Good scientific practice at the faculties